The first offence will result in a one-year suspension. A second violation within 10 years will result in a two-year revocation. A third violation or a subsequent violation within 10 years will result in a three-year revocation. After an arrest for drunk driving, the officer will confiscate the detainee's license.
The officer will then issue a pink temporary license, which is valid for 30 days. The original license will be returned to the California Department of Motor Vehicles. In the case of a first offence for driving under the influence of alcohol, you can be sentenced to 2 days in jail, but you will receive an additional 48 hours if you refuse to take a breathalyzer test. In addition, you can also obtain a restricted license with an ignition lock device (IID).
The IID prevents you from starting the car if you are intoxicated. As long as you show the DMV that the device is installed and that you have enrolled in a DUI program, you can drive your car however you want. Other penalties that may be imposed for the first time for driving under the influence of alcohol, driving under the influence of alcohol, or driving while intoxicated in California include the increase in car insurance or the total cancellation of an auto insurance company, the denial of entry to certain countries because of criminal records that are now on their permanent record, as well as the possible loss of employment or the loss of future employment due to criminal records in criminal background checks.